Child Welfare

Training Collaborative

External Resources and Training

The Georgia State University Professional Excellence Child Welfare Training Collaborative values the work of different people, agencies, organizations, and universities that are providing training and resources to strengthen the work with families in Georgia who may be experiencing complex trauma. The information below is presented as a resource for individuals who are interested in learning more about trauma, brain development, trauma informed care and work being done around these issues in the state of Georgia. 

To read a more comprehensive description of models and agencies, please download our training inventory document here: Training Inventory

Please email Amy Mobley (amobley13@gsu.edu) with suggested additions.

Trauma and Brain Development Models Used in Georgia  Used By

Mental Health Training Curriculum for Juvenile Justice (MHRC-JJ).

http://cjca.net/index.php/blog/806-mental-health-training-curriculum-for-juvenile-justice

Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ)
Better Brains for Babies (BBB)
http://www.bbbgeorgia.org/educatorBecome.php
Better Brains for Babies Statewide Trainers
Trauma-Informed Organizational Self-Assessment
The Trauma-Informed Organizational Self-Assessment was created by Orchard Place/Child Guidance Center’s Trauma Informed Care Project.  It was adapted from the National Center on Family Homelessness Trauma-Informed Organizational Self-Assessment and “Creating Cultures of Trauma- Informed Care: A Self-Assessment and Planning Protocol” article by Dr. Roger Fallot and Dr. Maxine Harris. The Agency Self-Assessment for Trauma-Informed Care is intended to help assess an organization’s readiness to implement a trauma-informed approach. Responses to the survey help an organization (1) identify opportunities for program and environmental change, (2) plan professional development trainings, and (3) inform organizational policy change.
Dr. Sharon Hill in collaboration with child placement agencies

Attachment, Self-Regulation and Competency Model (ARC)

http://www.traumacenter.org/research/ascot.php

Chris 180

 National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)

http://www.nctsn.org/resources/topics/treatments-that-work/promising-practices 

Georgia State University Professional Excellence Program Professional Development and Training and Child Welfare Training Collaborative 

DBHDD/System of Care Georgia State University Center of Excellence 

Children's Healthcare of Atlanta 

Sanctuary Model

www.sanctuaryweb.com    

Methodist Home 

Trust-Based Relational Interventions (TBRI)

http://www.attachmenttraumanetwork.org/understanding-attachment/treatment/tbri/

Bethany Christian Services

Faithbridge Foster Care

Groups Providing Trauma and/or Brain Development Trainings in Georgia

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Division of Family and Children Service staff
  • Child Placing Agencies/Child Care Institutions
  • Department of Juvenile Justice staff
  • DBHDD staff
  • DPH staff
  • foster/adoptive parents
  • healthcare providers
  • juvenile courts/law enforcement
  • Online Training
  • Webinars
  • Classroom Training

Contact:

https://providers.amerigroup.com/Pages/GAFosterCare.aspx

David Bolt: David.Bolt@Amerigroup.com

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • foster/adoptive parents
  • Foster Parent Summits
  • Webinars
  • Classroom Training

Contact:

Cheryl Williams, Assistant Branch Director of Pre- Permanency Services: cwilliams@bethany.org

Chanda Floyd-Bryant Program Manager for Foster Parent Education Advocacy and Training Program:

cfloyd-bryant@bethany.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Train the trainer for approved trainers, professionals and general public
  • Podcasts
  • Webinars
  • Train the Trainer Classroom Training

Contact:

Diane Bales, Associate Professor and Extension Human Development Specialist: dbales@uga.edu

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Professionals and general public
  • Online Trainings

https://www.prosolutionstraining.com/

Contact:

Carla Rogg, President: carlarogg@caresolutions.com

https://www.cdc.gov/learning/continuing-education/index.html

Contact:

Lara Robinson (CDC/ONDIEH/NCBDDD):lpr0@cdc.gov

Jennifer Wyatt Kaminski, (CDC/ONDIEH/NCBDDD): anu1@cdc.gov

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Foster Parents
  • General Public
  • Division of Family and Children Services Staff
  • Webinars
  • Classroom Training

https://www.choa.org/medical-services/child-protection-advocacy-center/prevention-and-training

Contact:

Dr. Angie Boy: Angela.Boy@choa.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • CHRIS 180 staff
  • Clinicians and Mental Health Professionals
  • School Systems
  • Refugee and Immigrant populations
  • Law enforcement
  • Homeless shelters
  • Case Management Staff
  • General Public
  • Classroom Training

Contact:

Melissa Graves, Director of Training: Melissa.Graves@chris180.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Contracted Behavioral Health Providers
  • Private Practice Behavioral Health Providers
  • Direct Support Professionals
  • Clinicians, Supervisors, and management staff
  • Department of Education
  • Division of Family and Children Services
  • Department of Juvenile Justice.
  • Classroom Training

Contact:

Tricia Mills, System of Care Expansion Implementation Project Director at DBHDD: Tricia.mills@dbhdd.ga.gov

Ursula Davis, GSU Center of Excellence Trainer: udavis@gsu.edu

Astrid Prudent, GSU Center of Excellence Trainer: aprudent@gsu.edu

Dr. Stephanie Pearson, DBHDD Clinical Psychologist:  Stephanie.Pearson@dbhdd.ga.gov

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • DJJ Staff
  • Classroom Training

Contact:

Chris Wood, Director of Training:  ChristopherThomas@djj.state.ga.us

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Division of Family and Children Services Staff
  • Classroom Training

Laurence Nelson: Laurence.nelson@dhs.ga.gov

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Faith Bridge Staff and Foster Parents
  •  Classroom Training

Crystal Williams, Training Content Manager:  crystal@faithbridgegroup.com

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Foster and Adoptive Parents
  •  General Public
  • Webinars
  • Classroom Training
  • Virtual Certificate Training

https://www.gacrs.org

Brenda Gillespie, Program Manager: brenda.gillespie@gacrs.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Division of Family and Children Services Staff
  • Law Enforcement

  • Placement Providers

  • Early care

  • Education

  • Behavioral Health

  • Juvenile Courts

  • Pediatric Health Providers

  • Court Appointed Special Advocates

  • Other Community and Government Organizations

  • Classroom Training

http://cwtc.gsu.edu

Contact:

Shelby Zimmer: ezimmer1@gsu.edu

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Therapists
  • Classroom Training on Trauma-Informed CBT

Contacts:

Dr. Shannon Self-Brown: sselfbrown@gsu.edu

Dr. Kelly Kinnish: KellyK@gacfca.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Child Serving Organizations
  • Trauma-Informed Organizational Self-Assessment

Contact:

Dr. Sharon Hill: Shill31@gsu.edu

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Methodist Home Staff
  • Classroom Training

Janet Whitten: Janet.Whittten@themethodisthome.org

Cameron Bishop: cameron.bishop@themethodisthome.org

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Birth Parents
  •  Foster Parents
  • Department of Public Health Nurses
  • Daycare/Early Learning Staff
  • Online Training
  • Classroom Training

http://app.readrightfromthestart.org/#/courses

Contact:

Arianna Weldon: Arianne@gafcp.org

Sarah Flesher: sarah@endurancepm.com

Target Audience  Types of Trainings/Resources
  • Child and Family Service Providers
  • Training Calendar

https://togetherga.net/